What Kind Of Church Is This?

David Platt talking about what kind of culture is being built up at his church around The Word.  And most beautiful about it is the transformation in life and lifestyle that is being fostered there.

I go to other places, such as house churches in Asia, and they study for 11 or 12 hours, knowing they risk their lives. They’ll dive in deep. We came back and tried to do something similar here. We call it secret church and do it a couple times a year. We gather together for intensive study with no frills, nothing flashy, no entertainment value. The first time, about 1,000 showed up. We studied Old Testament overview from 6 p.m. to midnight, but usually it goes longer, supplemented by times in prayer for the persecuted church. It’s all ages, but the predominant demographic is college students and young singles. It’s grown to the point where we need to offer tickets at $5 for reservations and the cost of a study guide. We’ll do it again in October with 2,500 folks. It’s theological in nature. We’ve done a night on the Atonement, another on the doctrine of God. This time we’re doing spiritual warfare. It’s one of my favorite sights as a pastor to look out at 12:30 a.m. and see a room full of 2,500 people, their Bibles open, soaking it in.

One Response

  1. I love the image of church this excerpt provides. I cannot remember the last time I took more than an hour to read and soak in and apply Biblical truth. The more “efficient” I feel I get with my life, the more drained I end up feeling at the end of the day. Perhaps it is time to set aside the time and reconnect through something intentional. A six hour Bible study…there is so much suggestion in that alone; I think it is truth that is silence and this silence has been present all along, but it is the setting aside of the time it takes to mute the world around me in order to see the truth as the ever present silence that leaves me with a lump in my throat. Thanks for the blog and for a chance to check myself here.

Leave a Reply

