Announcing Matt Chandler Week!!!

Ryan and I would like to celebrate one of our favorite young pastors, Matt Chandler, by giving him his own celebratory week on the blog. This guy thinks we should be ashamed and repent for linking to a sermon of Chandler’s:

I have to say I think this Matt Chandler guy is a danger to the church. He is a shrill preacher that thrives on making fun of good moral behavior. Whoever posted this should repent and take it down. And be ashamed your blog is promoting this kind of stuff.

We think we haven’t gone far enough. So instead of being ashamed, we would like to boldly proclaim this:

MATT CHANDLER WEEK on Matt and Ryan’s Blog!!!

Matt is such a great blessing to the church as a pastor at the Village Church in Highland Village and Denton Texas. He expository sermons have helped us understand Jesus as the hero of the Bible and have compelled us to be active in furthering his Kingdom on earth. Each day we will post a new Matt Chandler sermon or tidbit of information.

So happy Matt Chandler week everyone!!!

– matt

26 Responses

  1. Rock on Guys.. I have been listening to Matt since 06 when I stumbled upon him via Itunes where he was doing a series on Ecclesiastes..

    Extremely humble and he LOVES Jesus!

  2. haha! You’re so right, he would be pissed if he knew you “featured” HIM on your blog =) We’re supposed to be makin’ Jesus famous right!? Not Matt Chandler! =) I’m totally kidding you guys. He’s an awesome dude, and has had tremendous impact on me and Morgan. When I was 19 he preached a message at the village that set me free from a life of religion/religious duties and towards a life of obedience out of response to grace. thanks for sharing with everyone.

  3. That is one of things I admire most about the Village.. Matt is so conscience of not stepping into Jesus’s light.. you very rarely see him on video… his picture isn’t plastered all over the site etc.. he is in awe of God..

  4. @Blend, The Lord calls us to holiness and a serious love of the Word, your support for men like Chandler only calls into question your own understanding of the Bible.

    @Aaron, I have listened to the sermon that was posted on this blog and Matt Chandler does not want make Jesus famous. He seeks to mock the Christian call of pursuing holiness and an upright life. Your use of words of “making Jesus famous” only shows that you have given into the ways of the world, as we are to glorify God and stand in fear of him, not treat him like a trite celebrity.

    And to Matt and Ryan. You only make a mockery of yourselves by promoting Matt Chandler on your blog. And Ryan I read on your about section that you are supposed to be a seminary student, how can you claim a call to the gospel when you condone this type of content? May you both repent.

  5. Thank You guys! MC rocks! I’ve been podcasting him since 2007. His series on Luke has been amazing. MC helped me to climb out of my religious fundamentalist past that dogged me for a long time. Matt has showed me how freeing the gospel is and I am not talking about sin in any form. I am talking about being able to be open when I do have a bad week or a struggle and I no longer feel compelled to hide it all and smile.

    Matt can read a passage and extract out meanings that I would never see, not matter how many times I read it.

    Thank You Matt & Ryan.

  6. Ryan…what’s up man? I was talking to Hallock this morning and he told me about a great message you recommended to him by Chandler. As things and the internet go, I downloaded the talk, began listening to it, and thought, “Huh, I bet Ryan has a blog, I should google that and find out.” And here I am. I think the celebration of Matt Chandler week is an excellent idea. I have been blessed by his preaching for years as I have listened to him weekly for almost four years now (since 2005). He’s a stud and so are you! Keep rocking for the Gospel!
    -Adam Fix

  7. @Thomas I would like your thoughts on this

    “Sin is when you make something ultimate in your life at the expense of holiness.” – Matt Chandler

  8. Tom,

    Why didn’t you tell me we were doing our favorite Chandler quotes on this tribute post?

    Here’s mine:

    Christianity used to be a small movement that affected the culture around it. Now it is a gigantic impotent one.
    ~Matt Chandler

    Speaking to the church as a mission has been removed from our people and replaced with “protect yourself from sin” and sanctification has slowed to a halt because sanctification occurs as you engage a lost and dying world in the neighborhood and workplace in which you have been placed.
    ~Matt Chandler

  9. Good stuff..

    “You can’t legislate transformed hearts”
    Matt Chandler

    “Your identity is in temporary things that will always fail you” ..mans Idolatry .. Matt Chandler

  10. Awesome stuff guys…. Loving the Chandler week, maybe I will finally give listening to him a chance:)

    Vicky (matt’s wife)

  11. That’s harsh missionalmommy. You need to listen to MC ’cause you are “Not on Mission”.

    note: “Not On Mission” is a trademark of Matt Chandler and may not be reproduced without his express permission.

    OK, back to serious. I feel like a noob w/ you guys since I’m a 2007+ listener. However, my wife and I have made up for lost time by using our xbmc to podcast and vodcast MC as much as we can. When we’re not listening to MC, we’re listening to MD.

    If anyone here dislikes MC, they have no chance of liking MD.

    God help them !!

    ~Tapper

  12. Do you guys listen to Francis Chan or Tim Keller? they both are amazing as well..

  13. Last year, I went to a Tim Keller lecture at U of Penn when he was speaking on: “The Reason For God”.

    He is an excellent speaker and that is a really good book.

    ~ Tapper

  14. I went to this conference when both Chandler and Keller were speakers.

    http://theresurgence.com/reform_resurge_conference_2006

  15. I have all of the 2006-2008 Resurgence videos and I’ve watched them on my TV via xbmc.

    Chandler’s 2006 Resurgence ‘Gravity’ sermon is the one that got me hooked on him. That is an incredibly humbling message.

    Sorry to keep plugging xbmc but it is a great tool that I use to stream media from my PC to TV. I can’t imagine being w/o it.

    You are very fortunate to have been at that conference.

  16. My wife and I were members of the Mars Hill Church at the time. We were there for 2 years.

    I met Chandler personally that previous fall at an Acts29 event. He was much more of a neewbie then. He is a much better speaker now.

  17. @matt great link. I have never seen those talks from 06!

  18. Matt,

    We live on the East Coast and hope to visit MD and Mars Hill someday.

    I first heard MC at 2006 Resurgence. Gravity still convicts me deeply when I watch it.

    I’m still looking for the video’s of MC at Acts29 last week, but they haven’t been posted. Thanks for that link!!

    Tom – you gotta watch the 2006 Gravity message!!

  19. Here is a sermon from Francis Chan.. that had an amazing impact on my walk.. it punches you right in the throat

  20. Whoa! Lots of good comments. I am glad to see so much enthusiasm for Chandler (minus Thomas).

    Adam it is great to hear from you, I hope you and your bride are enjoying married life. I miss all around spirited discussions back in the old Denver Seminary bookstore. If you have a blog let me know so I can stay in touch with you. I am not on facebook even though I think that makes me a freak by most people’s standards.

  21. I have attended the Village Church since May 06 and ‘love me some MC. I left another church and was done with church as I knew it. Going to the Vilalge and sitting under MC’s teaching was a God send. As far as Thomas goes, I think your judgements are way wrong and harsh. Exactly the kind of actiosn that Christ and MC rally against. Probably my favorite MC sermon is named ‘Trilogy’ and can be found on thevillagechurc.net website. He prints such insight to the scripture used in that sermon. Thomas, ease up. You are way wrong on this guy!

  22. I have attended the Village Church since May 06 and ‘love me some MC’. I left another church and was done with church as I knew it. Going to the Vilalge and sitting under MC’s teaching was a God send. As far as Thomas goes, I think your judgements are way wrong and harsh. Exactly the kind of actions that Christ and MC rally against. Probably my favorite MC sermon is named ‘Trilogy’ and can be found on thevillagechurc.net website. He brings such insight to the scripture used in that sermon. Thomas, ease up. You are way wrong on this guy!

  23. This is another one of theose sermons that every Pastor should hear. Watch this video if you dare.

    http://theresurgence.com/interview-with-matt-chandler-video

  24. Check out ‘sanctification in marriage’ one of the newer sermons if you are married.. junk ripped me a new one and made me a realize i’m a pathetic excuse as a husband/man.. Thank God for matt chandler..

Leave a Reply

