Do You Take The Bible Literally?

No, I do not.  Nor do I think any of us should, the Bible is not an IRS form.  It a smattering of all different types of literary genres.

This question has really become a litmus test in much of culture to determine who is an irrational fundamentalist and who is progressive and intelligent.

When asked this question (which I have been twice in the last week) I say “no, I take the Bible at face value.”  That is that just like when I pick up the sports page I take the scores literally, but when I read a summary of the game and it says the Broncos destroyed the Raiders I do not take that literally, I take it at face value.  I take it in the manner in which it is intended to be read.

Christians need to do a better job in disarming the “literal” mine that is so pervasive in our society.  Of course do this with love and kindness, but do point out to people that this quip they picked up from Christopher Hitchens or Adam Carolla is not sufficient to disregard the Bible.

ryan

Leave a Reply

