Bulls Take Derrick Rose With First Overall Pick

Even Matt is somewhat ambivalent to when I write about the Chicago Bulls, but right now I don’t care.  Because after one of the most disappointing seasons in recent memory, the Bulls drafted Derrick Rose.

A couple of weeks before the draft I was daydreaming while talking to Matt about any unlikely situation in which the Bulls could land Rose.  Given that the Bulls only had a 1.7% chance of getting the first pick, I knew the odds were about as good as Adam h voting for Obama.

So when the Bulls one the draft lottery well it really felt like they won a… lottery.  As estatic as I am about the Bulls drafting Rose I am already adding to my prayer list that he does not develop a passion for motorcycles and follow in the footsteps of Jay Williams, who was somewhat equal to talent and potential when he came out of college.

So as long as Rose stays healthy and Paxson does not go from a C- GM to the second coming of Isiah Thomas, the Bulls have a bright future.

ryan

2 Responses

  1. I just finished watching the evening news here in Chicago and commenting to Burk that I simply did not understand any 19 year old being paid $15 million to play basketball. Derrick was on the news tonight stating he hopes he can bring leadership to the team, hmmm do you think so 1 year out of high school? But Ryan after I read your post I was happy he was back home in Chicago to wake up the Bulls is he really worth that kind of money? Why don’t they do a 3 year contract $5 million and try him out lst. lol

    Mom Kearns

  2. I am the opposite of ambivalent right now about the draft.

    Other than the fact that I am not sold on Greg Oden and Brandon Roy is the next candidate for the “Grant Hill All-Stars”, I am set for about a decade of Blazer prominence in the Western Conference starting in 1-2 years. I would say “dominance” but look at L.A., N.O and Utah.

    I am also dissapointed that the “Gay-Love” era is over in Minnesota.

Leave a Reply

