Conversation I had at Starbucks today.

I was reading my Bible and the lady next to me decided to talk to me about it.

Lady:  Do you think the Bible is true?

Me: uhh… yeah.

Lady:  Really how can there be a God?

Me:  Uh,  I am not sure what you want me to say.

Lady: Well there are lots of people who are suffering.

Me: Are you suffering?

Lady: No but God should do something about all the people that are.

Me:  Well if there is no God why don’t you do something about all the people that are suffering?

We actually went on from here to have a pretty nice conversation about evil, and if God is real.  At the core of it though I think she just wanted someone to talk to about life’s big questions.  Maybe Starbucks has become a safe place for many people to meet others and have those conversations.  I am sure I am not alone, or the first Christian to be reading a Bible in Starbucks and have these kind of interactions.  This was not the first time, nor the last.

ryan

5 Responses

  1. A friend and I were recently at a microbrew pub in Kalamazoo Michigan (shout out to Bell’s beer–get it while you can everyone) and talking about the gospel being the power to transform us. A guy started talking to us out of nowhere:

    Guy: “I loved what you were saying–you were just wrong about one thing.”

    Mike: “Yeah what’s that”

    Guy: “You said it’s the gospel that people must believe, but it’s Jesus they must believe in.”

    Mike: “Yeah–Jesus himself said to repent and believe the gospel because the kingdom was at hand.”

    Guy: “Yeah, but you have to read more than the Old Testament.”

    Mike: “I didn’t mean the gospels as in the first four books of the NT, but the gospel–as the central message of Jesus.”

    Guy: “Well–just make sure you tell people to believe in Jesus.”

    Mike: “Um..ok.”

    So–it wasn’t at starbucks–but—

  2. Bell’s beer? Never heard of that one, will have to check the local liquor store.

  3. I had an encounter like that at Einstein Bagels. I was reading the Bible and some guy approached me to say something like, “Oh, so you like reading fiction…” He then walks out of the place not giving me a chance to respond.

  4. I had an encounter like that at Einstein Bagels. I was reading the Bible and some guy approached me to say something like, “Oh, so you like reading fiction…” He then walks out of the place not giving me a chance to respond…

  5. Sorry to post twice, this thing is all wacky.

Leave a Reply

