My Crown

An excellent wife is the crown of her husband…
Proverbs 18:22


(This is Vicky and I at our favorite spot in Seattle, The Matador)

And she’s got much more than beauty. With her permission, I wanted to share a post from her private blog.

I’ve been reading a book the last few weeks called Irresistible Revolution by Shane Claiborne. It has been so good! I completely disagree with about 1/4 of it but the other 3/4 has hit my heart good and hard. One point that epitomizes what I have been learning.

We, in modern evangelical Christianity, place such a high value on being “born again”. Rightly so because Jesus said this to Zachariah. However within a few chapters Jesus tells another man that being a Christian means to “sell everything he has and give it to the poor”. And yet we don’t claim this is necessity for salvation or even promote this habit amongst ourselves.

I’m all for the “righteous rich, righteous poor theology“, but I have been so convicted reading through this book and studying through James at how comfortable I’ve gotten in my American mindset of what following Jesus and loving my neighbor really means. I know God has called me to be a wife and have a home of hospitality here in America, and I am praying and trying to process how to be obedient, within these roles, to many commandments I in large part ignore. Living well in America puts me at a level of privilege that I believe the Lord is going to hold me accountable to one day. Confessing and praying through this has spawned many ideas ranging from researching more where I shop for clothes – to the increased desire to adopt especially from a country like Thailand. Pray for me friends, that I would care more about Jesus and loving those in need than about myself and things I’m attached to in this world. Our savior says that one cannot be a friend of this world without becoming an enemy of him. How I want to mourn my friendship with this world so I can truly follow him- our humble, caring, homeless, exulted savior!!!

-Vicky

My Crown.

matt

2 Responses

  1. I just want to point out that about a year ago matt harangued me for all my posts being “social justice” oriented and that I was turning our blog into a social justice one, or something along those lines. I would search for the exact comment but I am too lazy. I would point out the irony but it is already obvious that God has a sense of humor.

    In all honesty I am excited and truly thrilled to hear and see what God is doing in matt’s life, and think it will be a blessing to the kingdom.

  2. Was this what you were looking for:

    On April 10th, Matt wrote:
    I like the fact that the words “oil orgy” and “tongue and cheek” were used in the same sentence. Other than that, I’m pissed at Ryan for turning our blog all emergent with his last two liberal/eco-friendly/social justice posts. The next thing you know I’m going to be writing posts about how learned something from Shane Claiborne, wait…

    But hey, in my joking with you I did open up the possibility for me to write about the social justice aspect of the gospel. And it only took 7 months for me to get around to it. And to be even more specific, I didn’t write it, my wife did.

Leave a Reply

