Insights from a Starbucks Cup

It’s been a pretty busy week for me as I had some pretty major assignments due.  As I was sitting at Starbucks last night reading on inerrancy, I read the quote on my cup and could not help but laugh, I hope you do to.

“Heaven is totally overrated.  It seems boring.  Clouds, listening to people play the harp.  It should be somewhere you can’t wait to go, like a luxury hotel.  Maybe blue skies and soft music were enough to keep people in line in the 17th century, but Heaven has to step it up a bit.  They’re basically getting by because the only have to be better than Hell.” 

Joel Stein, LA Times

To some extent I think he is right on, if this is what Heaven is like than it is overrated.  If there is no Jesus and perfect intimacy with our Creator than count me out.

To live is Christ to die is gain.

ryan

2 Responses

  1. Funny thought. I really like those Starbucks cups, They always remind me what an insane place we live in:)

  2. Culturally, Jesus talking about a house with many rooms would have bowled over his listeners at the time. Joel Stein, undoubtedly jaded by the riches and pleasures of the Playboy Mansion, would have a hard time relating to what Jesus was saying, I’m sure.

    But hey, I am confident to say that there will be hot chicks in Heaven.

Leave a Reply

