Middle school gives out birth control

You can read about it here.

Lunch box check, backpack check, contraception check!

Here is a snippet from the story

PORTLAND, Maine – After an outbreak of pregnancies among middle school girls, education officials in this city have decided to allow allow one school’s health center to make birth control pills available to girls as young as 11.

 

Not even sure where to begin here, but the story really hit me hard. Could be because my wife is going through parent teacher conferences right now and I am tired of hearing stories of disengaged apathetic parents. Don’t get me wrong I do not think it all has to do with parenting, but a lot of it does. When little Sally is 11 and having sex with her classmates its logical to wonder what kind of relationship has she had with her dad. And since schools are unable to call parents out and tell them to step it up, because it many ways the parents are the customers, you hand out birth control to middle schoolers. Saddening on so many levels.

One Response

  1. i know i was appalled when i read that, it made me sad as I considered all of my students in my guitar class, and it made me more diligent to pray for them.

Leave a Reply

