Wait… So “Bro” is the new “Dude”

Gotta love the YouTube revolution. And you really gotta love the “Don’t Tase Me Bro” crazy John Kerry supporter/conspiracry theorist.

Let’s be honest. This video would not be funny if the guy did not add the word “Bro” to the end of each of his sentences.

This has got me thinking, have U.S. Americans replaced “Dude” with “Bro”. This blogger portrays “Bros” in a less than favorable light. I still say “Dude”, am I out of touch with culture? I feel like the guy at the office that was still using “Man” when everyone switched to “Dude” 15 years ago. And I feel like I’m getting old and out of touch because every time I hear someone say “Bro” I think they sound stupid. Undoubtably, this is how many U.S. Americans felt 15 years ago when punks like me said things like, “Don’t tase me, Dude” when being silenced at a political rally.

I am officially torn. I want to connect with todays culture, but I don’t want to sound like an idiot. What should I do?

matt

5 Responses

  1. Well actually you can be uber-trendy and go to the next one after “bro” and that is “bitches.” Which is disturbing on so many levels but just ask Isiah Thomas it all depends on who is saying it, and to who. Plus I watch some of the MTV VMA’s and noticed this was the primary method of addressing the audience. Eventually you just have to give up and stick with the one that works for you. It is like when you reach your mid-forties and you cross over into permanent docker territory, it just is where you belong.

  2. Oh, and “ninjas” is also getting some momentum.

    Ex. “What’s up my ninjas”

    Its a fine line though between being relevant and looking like you are working too hard. For example, I bought these black stone washed Levi’s a few weeks ago, but still haven’t gotten comfortable in them yet.

  3. how about Ass munchers? This is what I call my boyfriend every night before bedtime, then I wake him up in the morning with a big pile of poopy.

  4. Jimbo – I think YOU need the Taser. Yikes.

  5. I think your right about bro, I find myself saying it all the time, I even called one of my students bro the other day!

Leave a Reply

