Shelf Fridge Ipod

These posts are pretty fun to write, except for the times you discover that you have not listened to any new music and that your beer tastes have stayed pretty much the same for as long as you can remember.  Anyway, here is my list.

Shelf

Spiritual Direction by Henri Nouwen.  Here is a quote from the book; “Once pain or confusion is framed or articulated by a question, it must be lived rather than solved.”  Or try this one on for size, “Our lives are not problems to be solved but journeys to be taken with Jesus as our friend and finest guide.”  Hey Brian McLaren Nouwen called and he wants he material back!  I’m kidding but this has been an excellent book for me to read, it is books like this (from a dead Catholic priest) that round out my Christian life, they allow me to be challenged and understand God from different avenues and streams than I am used to and particularly comfortable with.  Everyone should read this book, especially if you are reformed.

It All Goes Back in the Box by John Ortberg. This is typical Ortberg, good writing, incredible illustrations and simply profound at times.  Guy is just a born communicator.  He does have a high “cheese” factor and can be quite “boomerific” at times but the book is quite enjoyable to read and is excellent for all.

PNTC Gospel of John by D.A. Carson.  Considering that I a huge fan of both D.A. Carson and the Pillar New Testament Commentary Series I knew that I would love this book.  This is the second beefy commentary I have read on John this year and I have to say Carson’s is second to none.  What I find remarkable about it is that whether you are a Greek guru or just a Christian wanting to dig deeper into the Gospel of John, there is something for you in this commentary.  Now that to me is the definition of great writing.  One who can write to all levels, even at the same time.

Fridge

I have cut back on the beer drinking this summer, and lost over ten pounds this summer, maybe the two are related.  But a few good beers I have had are the Breckenridge Seasonal brew a few weekends ago, and anything by New Belgium they are the Patriots of the beer making world.

I have cooked a lot of steak this summer as I continue my secret mission to become the next Bobby Flay.  Yes I have gone to great lengths to learn how to cook the perfect steak, even watching hours and hours of the Food Network.  And I think I am getting close.  Won’t share all my insights right now because maybe a cookbook is my best shot at getting published in the future.

Ipod

Kayne West Graduation. Honestly I was stunned when I saw that Matt had not included this new CD on his list.  If you are into hip-hop, which I am, then you will love this CD.  Kayne West has an ego the size of Barry Bond’s head but he also is incredibly talented.  Even if you do not like rap download the track “stronger” could be the best song of the year, it is easily the best workout song of the year.

ESPN Radio.  I have become and addict.  Crystal got me a subscription to ESPN the magazine and with it comes a membership to be an ESPN insider.  I would not give something like this a second thought usually but as an insider you get to download all their sports talk shows without the commercials, for free!  So everyday now I download it onto my Ipod and listen to it on the way to work.  Colin Cowherd is my favorite, the guy says some crazy stuff, but is hugely entertaining.  Plus with football season being back in full effect, sports talk radio is at its finest.

ryan

One Response

  1. […] unknown wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptI’m kidding but this has been an excellent book for me to read, it is books like this (from a dead Catholic priest) that round out my Christian life, they allow me to be challenged and understand God from different avenues and streams … […]

Leave a Reply

