Reading Velvet Elvis with Vicky

The other day I asked my wife when was the last time she read something from a person or side that was different from her set of beliefs. Her answer:

“Never”

It was then I said we would go to the bookstore and pick out a book that would stretch us to think, help solidify what we believe, and maybe even help us learn. However, it had to be something that was capturing people and wasn’t written by a flat out heretic (like Joyce Meyers, Joel Osteen, or T.D. Jakes). After much deliberation we decided on Velvet Elvis by Rob Bell.

https://i1.wp.com/ec2.images-amazon.com/images/P/0310273080.01._SS500_SCLZZZZZZZ_V33711798_.jpg

It has been great to go through it the past few days with my wife. It has caused great discussion, and given us some great subsequent Bible study times. Over the next few weeks, I would like to post THE GOOD, THE BAD, and THE UH-GLY of what we are reading. I think some of you might be surprised by what we have liked, and most likely not surprised by what we haven’t.

Blessings,
Matt

Powered by ScribeFire.

2 Responses

  1. Will be interesting to hear your thoughts on Mr. Bell. I never read Velvet Elvis but I did read Sex God and for the most part really enjoyed it.

  2. I also am curious as to what you think of Bell’s book…

    I have problems with him in general.

Leave a Reply

