Paris Hilton and our High Horses

Everybody’s happy that Paris Hilton is going to jail. Bob Hyatt’s happy, many inmates are happy, Lindsay Lohan’s probably happy, and as I polled my co-workers around the water cooler, almost everyone in the world is happy. Are we happy becuase we love justice, and she is getting what she deserves? Or are we happy becuase we aren’t getting what we deserve?

We are happy becuase we love seeing those whom we place on a pedestal fall. When we tear them down like insurgents did Saddam Hussein’s statue 4 years ago, we are able to convince ourselves that we are god people. May I encourage us all to get off our high horses.

Here’s why I can’t be happy Paris is going to jail (sticking mostly with the laws I have broken regarding driving).

From age 16-18 I drove over a hundred miles an hour on the Vegas roadways probably a dozen times.
(12 counts of reckless driving: never charged)

From age 16-18 I probably drove drunk or high half a dozen times.
(6 counts of DUI: never charged)

When I was 16 a buddy and I went around egging people from our cars for about a week or two.
(multiple counts of assault with a deadly missle: never charged)

When I was 17 I had a party at my parents house, which I actually broke into to hold, then helped 50 or so underage kids get drunk and then drive home.
(How to I even begin to write up this wrap sheet: never charged)

See if you and I really cared about justice, then we would have turned ourselves in the multiple times that we have broken the laws in our lives. We have not. We love justice when it is done to others. This past weekend a 19 year old plowed into a SUV killing a family of 5, and I thought to myself, “They should throw the book at him.” What, may I ask, separates you and I, who have driven drunk, from sharing his place in a jail cell? Luck? Serendipity? God’s grace? Whatever you believe you must admit, you are no better than him. His guilt should be shared, by you and by myself.

The Bible says that God opposes the proud and gives grace to the humble. The reality is that we have committed just as many crimes as those whom we point our fingers (or write blogs about for that matter), and we heap more guilt upon ourselves by not turning ourselves in. We heap even more guilt upon ourselves as we, with great swelling hearts of pride, tell ourselves over and over that we are better than Paris, we are better than Brittney, we are better than Ty Pennington. We create, among ourselves, a moral bourgeois holding our noses high above those whom we have given celebrity status, for the sole purpose of elevating ourselves morally.

May we humble ourselves, as those who are not just as morally bankrupt, but perhaps even more so. For we have taken their shame and made it our glory. If we do not, then we will never know God’s grace.

5 Responses

  1. Eh, I don’t think I’m *better* than such people, but maybe more average. Either way, 1. she’s guilty 2. the police can’t catch everyone, and 3. I am happy any time any drunken scumbag gets taken off the roads for a few days.

    Maybe I’m on a high pony.

  2. Amen Adam, plus I am already giddy with all the possible sermon illustrations that will come of this!!

  3. BTW, the last comment was meant to be comical. In no way would I want to homoletically prosper from Paris’ incarceration.

  4. i’m still pretty happy.

  5. We have been watching Paris Hilton’s BFF. Where do they find these people? They’re from another world!

Leave a Reply

