in the fridge/on the grill

In the spirit of shelf/ipod, I thought I would start a fridge/grill. It’s spring, and if we’re going to take full advantage of it, then we’d better be drinking a good assortment of good spring-time beers, and grilling like mormons have babies. Hopefully this post will spur us on to trying different beers, and ways of grilling each month.

In The Fridge

Sam Adams White Ale
A really light and refreshing beer. It is a blonde for sure, yet it retains many flavors a typical blonde would not. This is probably why Sam Adams decided to serve a White Ale as a late winter seasonal. Which is nice now because stores have it heavily discounted (4 bucks off a 12 pack), allowing one to enjoy a great spring beer at a great low price.

Guinness
How the guys at Guinness thought you could replicate a nitro tap system (the tap system that makes Guinness so thick) in a bottle by using a plastic rocket doohickey is beyond me. It’s like being really good friends with the hottest girl in high school. You get to hang out all the time, but never get to make out. That’s what drinking Guinness in a bottle is like. Yes, I was suckered in to buying this because of St. Patty’s Day.

Smirnoff Ice
This needs some explaining. Remember when we first turned 21, and our chickified beer selection was limited to Mike’s Hard Lemonade, Smirnoff Ice, and Hard Cider’s, yikes. Well I had some guys over to watch UNLV lose to Oregon last week, and Ben brought over some Smirnoff Ice’s. How fitting. Ben did take offense when his selection was referred to as chick beer, to which I replied, “Hey Ben, that was Vicky that called it chick beer. Her being a chick qualifies her to make that assertion. So drink your chick beer.”
Good times.

On the Grill

Barbecue-Flavored Chicken
I make my own rub for this using paprika as my main spice. I add a few shakes of crushed red pepper, some fresh ground pepper (the Mitch Hedberg joke about fresh pepper is playing in your head right now isn’t it), a dash of garlic powder and Italian seasoning. Slap some Jack Daniel’s BBQ Sauce on for the last few minutes. Serve with asparagus and a good porter. Ah, Spring.

Burgers
Anything less than a half-pound per patty is unacceptable. A light amount of Mesquite Steak, and 15 minutes of glory on the grill gives you a wonderful medium burger. The key to a great burger is plenty of fresh toppings. I always keep red onion, tomato, green leaf lettuce, and spicy brown mustard on hand for great burgers and sandwiches whenever I want. I cook so much more now that I keep the right condiments around.

Kabobs
I never realized how wonderful kabobs were until Vicky started making them for me to grill. They cook fast and easy, they don’t involve silverware, and the include veggies. Note: if I ever had to prepare kabobs myself I would never cook them. Thank you Jesus for my smoking hot, kabob preparing wife.

Matt

5 Responses

  1. Okay okay I dig this topic. But the 64,000 dollar question is did you try the Smirnoff and what did you think? C’mon man don’t hold out on me here!!

  2. I refrained, but there are still three left in my fridge. The problem is I don’t see my wife drinking one anytime soon. All she ever wants are these great pomegranite martini’s that I make. I must admit, I am extremely tempted.

  3. Dude just drink them. You know you want to, just give in and do it. I had a raspberry one that was left in my fridge.

  4. kabobs are quite great. Did I tell you one of those Jeno’s pizzas I had the other day made me sick! I guess that’s what you get when the pizza costs $1.50…

  5. Being cheap at the expensive of being a steward is never a good idea. Eat healthy Tom, so you can have the most energy, the best lungs, a good looking body (so that you can have a hot wife, and great sex), so that you might most effectively bless the city with your music.

Leave a Reply

