Vicky’s Secret Blog

I don’t know if you were aware, but Vicky has a secret blog. She and two good friends from Seattle set it up to keep in touch. It is actually, in my opinion, the most effective (and productive for that matter) use of a blog I have ever seen. One girl lives in Seattle, the other in Vegas, and the other in Krasnodar Russia. This is how they keep in touch. Vicky does the whole keep in touch thing, but since she learned how to blog by reading the old Dodge Stratus blog, she can’t help but get on a writing soap box every so often. I am so proud. Anyways, I thought she had a gem the other day so I wanted to post it here so that more than two people can be blessed by it.

“Some thoughts I have on dog walking. We finally have a good routine set up to walk our puppy. I walk her in the morning for 1/2 hour at least and Matt does evening duty when he gets home from work. I have really enjoyed my puppy walking time, it gives me time to think and pray and enjoy the morning, plus it’s almost 70 degrees here now and beautiful in the mornings. She teaches me a lot also on these walks, just about nature and discipline and life. This morning I was laughing at her because she was treasure hunting:) When we walk she picks up anything she can find on the ground; water bottles, Popsicle sticks, tissues, candy wrappers, sticks, whatever she can find. She is really cute about it because she will pick one up and look back at me with her tail wagging so as to show me her new treasure and off she runs to find another. The interesting thing is that when she gets to a new object there is always a few moments where she ponders picking up the new one because she realizes she will have to let the treasure go she currently has in her mouth. She always chooses the new one. Sometimes the new one is a better treasure sometimes it’s not.

It made me think about my mind and how I am the same way. I can only have one thing on my mind at a time, one thing that consumes my focus and to think about something new I have to let go of my current thought. I became extremely convicted about how often I quickly let go of the spiritual thoughts I have for silly sometimes downright sinful thoughts that cloud my mind all day.

2 cor 11:3 But I am afraid that as the serpent deceived Eve by his cunning, your thoughts will be led astray from a sincere and pure devotion to Christ.

I pray that I and us all would be less like my puppy and more focused upon Christ, so when the next shinny treasure is in front of us we could remain steadfast and focused on our Lord. I have been struggling with my thought life a lot lately and so desperately want to be focused on Christ and His work instead of my life, troubles, income, shopping and future which take up 99.9% of my brain power at the moment.
Funny how the spirit can teach you about walking with God through walking a puppy:)
love you
Vicky”

One Response

  1. First off you mis-spelled your own spouse’s name in the title, but I am sure you were just excited to share that awesome insight. My dog just likes to ration his piss so he can urinate on every object in the neighborhood. Thanks for sharing Vicky’s “ken gire” moment.

Leave a Reply

