Sex God

Well Mr. Bell’s new book just came out yesterday, and being that I work at a bookstore and sometimes get a free copy of books, I lucked into a copy of “Sex God.” Yes this really is the title of the book. And since Crystal needed the house this morning to have breakfast with some friends I wondered over to Starbucks and decided to read some of Rob’s new book.

I would be remiss if this point if I did not mention that the cover of the book looks like it was designed by some cosmetic company and the sides of the pages are pink, this alone preaches something about the book that I will leave alone. As I opened up to look at the table of contents I noticed that Chapter 1 was entitled “God wears lipstick.” Now if I was one of the bloggers from Slice I am sure I would be ready to send anthrax to Rob right now in a neat little envelope (this is a joke, in no way am I saying anyone wants to commit acts of terrorism against Rob). So because this blog is titled “the prime rib” I figured this was going to be just another case of me living out my addiction to the prime rib theory (which by now we really should start calling law). As I got into it though, I really enjoyed it. The font, and format of each page is creative and enjoyable and his words are deep, profound and understandable at the same time. He is witty, generous, and full of amazing insight into sexuality. I have read the first four chapters and was really enjoying the book, even though I came to thinking I would not.

I am only about half way through and so far so good. Except one hiccup. Chapter five, which I am half way through, is his tacit endorsement and advocation of Arminianism. Here is a quote.

“A God who refuses to override our freedom, who respects our power to decide whether to reciprocate, a God who lets us make the next move” pg. 98.

I guess I will just have to push through this chapter and accept that mr. bell and I will not agree on everything theologically but he still is worth reading. The best way to sum it up so far is this. Just how we have both said Keller is everything we wished McLaren would be; well I feel that way about Bell its just that I have not discovered his reformed counterpart yet. Something I will pray about.

ryan

Leave a Reply

