not to correct Piper, but…

Last week Justin Taylor had a post, that in all previous life stages, I would have found irrelevant. But seeing as how it was my first week in the land of cubicles (which, by the way. If you thought Office Space was funny before, try watching it after actually having an office job. Infinitely funnier.), the post entitled “Making Much of Christ from 8 to 5” caught my attention. I was so impressed by the article that I printed it out, and it now hangs on my cubicle wall space right next to a picture of my wife and I, and my time sheet that needs to be filled out before Friday. The blog post was very insightful, as John Piper attempted to find ways to make boring, secular, cubicle work seem like great ministry. Or more specifically, he gave us five reasons how to make much of God in our daily cubicle work.

“Making Much of Christ from 8 to 5”

10 comments Permalink

From a chapter by that title in John Piper’s Don’t Waste Your Life:

  1. We can make much of God in our secular job through the fellowship that we enjoy with him throughout the day in all our work.
  2. We make much of Christ in our secular work by the joyful, trusting, God-exalting design of our creativity and industry.
  3. We make much of Christ in our secular work when it confirms and enhances the portrait of Christ’s glory that people hear in the spoken gospel.
  4. We make much of Christ in our secular work by earning enough money to keep us from depending on others, while focusing on the helpfulness of our work rather than financial rewards.
  5. We make much of Christ in our secular work by earning money with the desire to use our money to make others glad in God.

posted by JT at Thursday, January 25, 2007 10 comments links to this post

As much as the post has been a great encouragement to me, after a week of 8-5 cubicle work I would have to say that Mr. Piper, who has influenced me more than any living author, misses the big E on the eye chart here. Namely, that if we are to make much of Christ from 8-5 then we must remain “Cross-Centered” from 8-5. Or to be even more specific: repentance must be on the forefront of our work efforts. We are fallen creatures, and daily there are ways that we fall short of being model employees. In lieu of specific examples I would simply point to Piper’s list as a law to be broken. If we are to make much of Christ from 8-5 then we need to rely on him, not just for the empowering grace to accomplish Piper’s list, nor the preventative grace to avoid sinning against God and our employer. We need also repent when we don’t give a full day’s effort, or when we believe that our boss’ company photo would be better represented if we were to add horns and a tail with our sharpie. When we are jealous of other co-workers, or when we participate in gossip of k-fed jokes. If repentance is not a daily activity we associate with our jobs, then we cannot make much of Christ from 8-5.

But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus his Son cleanses us from all sin. If we say we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us. If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.” – 1 John 1:7-9

One Response

  1. After re-reading my post I wanted to clarify that: I LOVED WHAT PIPER WROTE. I understand that my post title might mislead one to think I did not like, or didn’t find value in what Piper wrote. My point was on learning to make repentance part of my 8-5 activities, not on bashing Piper.
    Matt

Leave a Reply

